Checking Backup Status

Archived backups


Archived backups are listed in a separate section on the page and indicated with a dashed outline. A backup is automatically archived when the connection to its original repository is lost. There are two possible causes of a lost connection:

  • The repository was deleted from GitHub.
  • Permissions for this particular repository were changed, thereby removing access.

Inactive backups 

When a backup is “inactive” it is marked with a yellow border.

There are two possible reasons for an inactive backup.

1) A backup for this repository hasn't been created yet

This is the case when you have set the installation for access to select repositories only, and you later add new repositories to the list of repositories the installation can access.

Rewind checks each installation for new repositories every 24 hours. This means that backups for the new repositories will be automatically created during a 24 hour cycle. Created repositories are listed in the “active” section with a green border.

2) The backup routine for this repository has been stopped 

This occurs when you have reached the quota of your current plan and new repositories have been added either to your GitHub account for this installation, or to the list of repositories this installation can access.

Note: If you have inactive backups, either upgrade your plan, or limit access to select repositories for this installation for the maximum amount of your current plan. If you limit access by selecting which repositories will be backed up, new repositories will not be automatically backed up.

Failed backups

When a backup fails, automatic retries are made until the backup is successful. 

If the backup continues to fail, our technical support is automatically notified. 

A failing backup displays in the backup panel of the user interface with an error message and a red border.