How can I initiate a restore?
To initiate an Advanced Restore, simply log in to your Rewind account (either from rewind.com or in the My Apps menu in Jira) and navigate to the Advanced Restore tab. From there, choose the date/time you would like to Restore to, and click Restore.
What happens to my current data when I initiate a restore?
When you initiate an Advanced Restore, the Rewind app will attempt to restore several Jira resources to exactly how they were on the date and time you selected. The full list of resources included in an Advanced Restore are listed below.
Specifically, this process will:
- Update all items modified since the date and time selected
- Recreate only those items that have been both modified and then deleted since the date and time selected
- Delete any resources as part of the restore
Your current data as of the date of the initiation will be replaced with the data saved in the backup snapshot taken the day you’ve selected to restore to. So, if on Wednesday, you restore your data back to Monday, any changes made on Tuesday will not be present.
What items can I restore?
Account-Level Restores include:
- Project Components
- Project Categories
- Project Features
- If a Project Feature has been deleted since the Restore point, Rewind cannot recreate it. But, if it has only changed since the Restore point, we can revert those changes.
- Rewind cannot update the following Project Features: Backlog, Board, Issue Navigator, Reports, and Roadmap
- Project Properties
- Project Property Keys
- Project Roles
- Project Versions
- If a Board has been changed since the Restore point, we cannot revert those changes. But, if it has been deleted since the Restore point, Rewind will recreate it as necessary.
- Issue Comments
- If an Issue Comment has been changed since the Restore point, we cannot revert those changes. But, if it has been deleted since the Restore point, Rewind will recreate it as necessary.
- Issue Fields
- Issue Links
- Issue Link Types
- Issue Properties
- Issue Types
- Issue Watchers
- Issue Worklogs
- If an Issue Worklog has been changed since the Restore point, we cannot revert those changes. But, if it has been deleted since the Restore point, Rewind will recreate it as necessary.
- Restoring a deleted Project requires the Project Lead to be active in the Jira organization. If the Project lead is not present, the Project won’t be re-created during the Restore.
- For customers on Free Plans of Jira Cloud, Projects cannot be recreated or updated during a Restore.
We will be continuing to add resources to our Advanced Restore feature with the goal of expanding its coverage to include the same resources that are backed up daily by Rewind.
Can I restore a single item only?
Currently, Rewind Backups for Jira allows account-level restores. An Item-level restore feature is planned to be developed in Q2, 2022. Current Rewind users will be able to take advantage of this new feature free of charge.
Does my data get written over when I restore?
Yes. Our Advanced Restore performs the restore on the linked Jira instance. To ensure the highest accuracy, please do not make changes to your Jira instance during the Restore.