1. Help Center
  2. Rewind Backups for Confluence

How To: Restoring a Confluence Backup

Restores

How can I  initiate an account level restore (all account data)?

To initiate an account-level restore, simply log in to your Rewind account (either from rewind.com or in the My Apps menu in Confluence) and navigate to the Advanced Restore tab. From there, choose the date/time you would like to Restore to, and click Restore.


Can I restore a selected item only (eg one page)?

Yes, Rewind Backups for Confluence supports item-level restores. To restore an item, log in to your Rewind account (either from rewind.com or in the My Apps menu in Confluence) and select the item you’d like to restore . From there, choose the date/time you would like to Restore to, and click Restore.


What happens to my current data when I initiate a restore?

When you initiate a restore, your instance will be restored exactly back to how it was on the date you selected. Your current data as of the date of the initiation will be replaced with the data saved in the backup snapshot taken the day you’ve selected to restore to. So, if on Wednesday, you restore your data back to Monday, any changes made on Tuesday will not be present. Please note that when restoring resources, Rewind will not delete any resources, but simply update them as part of the restore process. 


What items can I restore?

All of the items in your backups will be restored back to your account. These include:


  • Pages
  • Spaces
  • Blog Posts
  • Attachments
  • Comments*
  • Templates
  • Themes

*When comments are restored, the commenter will be restored as a text. This is due to Atlassian’s constraints around actions Rewind can take on behalf of users.  


Can I restore a single item only?

Yes! Rewind backups for Confluence has account level and item level restores. Item-level restores allows you to restore a single item of your choice. It also allows you to test the restore capabilities for compliance and more.


Does my data get written over when I restore?

Yes. Our Advanced Restore performs the restore on the linked Confluence instance. To ensure the highest accuracy, please do not make changes to your Confluence instance during the Restore.


Can I see the version in my Confluence account after I restore?

No. Although the versions are also backed up by Rewind, you will not be able to view them on your Confluence account after a restore. This functionality will be added in later versions free of charge.